WWW . TEL . COMMUNITY - The .tel domain forum

Welcome to the Tel.community.

You are invited to participate in the growing .tel
community!

To take full advantage of everything offered by
our forum, please log in if you are already a
member or join our community if you're not yet.

The registration at TelTalk.org is free and easy!

Thank you for participation!
WWW . TEL . COMMUNITY - The .tel domain forum

Welcome to the objective forum for .tel domains! Read it first when anything is happening with .tel!

Please join the LIVE CHAT for all REGISTERED members at the bottom of our forum!

Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Share

Alex
Admin

Location : USA
Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-04-27
Posts : 889 Points : 5905
Reputation : 258
Warning level : 100 %
Comments : I have left TelTalk.org.

Please contact the new forum
owner "tel.community" instead!

Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Alex on Sun 23 Sep 2012, 1:40 pm

TelnicTelnamesTelChinaNovalTel
Company Profile
Registration Date29th April 199816th December 20102010October 2011
Address37 Percy Street
London, W1T 2DJ, UK
37 Percy Street
London, W1T 2DJ, UK
Beijing, ChinaBeijing, China
Phone+442074676450+448081891447400-116-7979 / 8601085997136861084874199
Fax+442074676451-8601085997181-
E-Mailcustomerservice@telnic.orgsupport@telnames.comqudao@telchina.orgservice@novaltel.net
DirectorsKhashayar Mahdavi (CEO)
Fiona McKeown (CFO)
Henri Asseily (CTO)
Fabien Chalandon (Vice Chairman)
Juan Villalonga
William G Holman
Pierre Caland
Rani Aliahmad
Michael Paul Dahan
Khashayar Mahdavi (CEO)
Fiona McKeown (CFO)
Lucywang.tel (CEO)
Liguanghao.tel (COO)
Mii.tel (Vice President)
Kevinkong.tel
(Business Development Director)
Yangjun.tel (Technical Director)
Jethwang.tel (Product Director)
Liguanghao.tel
ShareholdersSee hereTelnicLucywang.tel a. o.Liguanghao.tel
Product Release24th March 200925th April 201220th September 2010In Planning
Area of OperationWorldwideUK (EU & US in Planning)ChinaChina
Number of Registrations185,8491,70075,5753
Websitehttp://Telnic.orghttp://Telnames.comhttp://TelChina.orghttp://NovalTel.com
Directory & Yellow Pageshttp://TelPages.comhttp://TelPages.comhttp://TelPages.comhttp://so114.so
Price (Yearly)$9.99; Mostly Less Than $20
(As per Registrar; Up to $149.99)
£14.95 (~ $24)
£9.95 With Coupon (~ $16)
¥1,000 (~ $158)In Planning
Product Features:
1.) Content
Templates8111
Subdomains3,000No3,000No
Contact Types100 per Subdomain20100 per Subdomain100
Pictures5 per Subdomain5, But Too Small5 per Subdomain2
Company LogoYesYes, But Too SmallYesYes
Background PicturesNoGallery & UploadGalleryNo
TextOnly at the BottomOnly Short & at the BottomOnly at the BottomYes
Videos1 per Subdomain11 per SubdomainNo
Ads8 per SubdomainNo8 per SubdomainNo
CouponsNo1NoNo
HeadlinesYesNoNoYes
PDF FilesOnly Common WeblinkIcon & UploadOnly Common WeblinkOnly Common Weblink
FormsNoNoNoYes
Product CatalogNoNoNoYes
MicrobloggingNoNoNoYes
Call ButtonNoNoNoYes
2.) Tools
Profile ManagementYesNoYesNo
Text FormattingNoNoNoNo
RSS FeederNoNoNoNo
Domain E-mail AddressYesYesYesYes
Integrated E-mail SolutionNoNoNoNo
Google Maps1 Map per SubdomainYes1 Map per SubdomainYes
Google AnalyticsYesYesYesNo
Google AdSenseYesNoYesNo
Integrated SearchYesNoYesNo
Social Networking & Data ProtectionYesNoYesNo
Online Payment on .tel (e. g. PayPal Button)NoNoNoNo
Mobile PaymentNoNoIn PlanningNo
Full View on Cell Phones (e. g. via Link)NoNoNoYes
OAuthYesNoYesYes
Automatic Login Into Control PanelMostly No (Depending on Registrar)YesNoNo
Website Design Without Third-Party ToolsNoYesNoYes
Product Review
Website Design (35 % Influence for Rating) *○○○○○●●●●●●○○○○●●○○○
Mobile Website (35 % Influence for Rating) *●○○○○●●●●●●○○○○○○○○○
Range of Features (15 % Influence for Rating)●●○○○●●○○○●●○○○●●●○○
Flexibility (10 % Influence for Rating)●○○○○●●○○○●○○○○●●●●○
Innovation (5 % Influence for Rating)●●○○○●●●●○●●●○○●●●○○
Product Rating (100 %)17 %84 %25 %34 %
* = With 35 % the influence for the product rating from "Website Design" and "Mobile Website" was rated equally, because many mobile devices such as tablets and big screen cell phones display the full content of websites.

Status: 22nd September 2012


Last edited by TelTalk on Sat 09 Feb 2013, 12:34 pm; edited 13 times in total


___________________________________________________

I have left TelTalk.org. Please contact the new forum owner tel.community instead!
avatar
Telnamer
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Join date : 2012-09-12
Posts : 138 Points : 3150
Reputation : 52
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Telnamer on Mon 24 Sep 2012, 10:40 am

Hard decision to choose the right provider.
Should I use the one with the good product or the one with the highest registration fee?
avatar
Rambo
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Join date : 2012-06-23
Posts : 143 Points : 2806
Reputation : 21
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Rambo on Mon 24 Sep 2012, 11:59 am

TelTalk wrote:http://so114.so
Novaltel has understood the need of a .tel Yellow Pages directory. Unfortunately he isn't a great designer.
avatar
ixida
Senior Member
Senior Member

Join date : 2012-07-05
Posts : 263 Points : 7411
Reputation : 115
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by ixida on Mon 24 Sep 2012, 12:06 pm

75,575 .tel domains in China for US$ 158 each? That makes more than US$ 10,000,000 yearly renewal fees!
avatar
kprobe
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-05-11
Posts : 196 Points : 4407
Reputation : 59
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by kprobe on Mon 24 Sep 2012, 12:27 pm

Correction needed: Telnames does not support OpenAuth.
Ads and Coupons should be two separate rows as they are separate DNS records and render differently.
Domain Email address: although all support via MX record, none provide an easy, integrated email solution.
Google Maps: Pro .tel supports multiple maps per page


Alex
Admin

Location : USA
Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-04-27
Posts : 889 Points : 5905
Reputation : 258
Warning level : 100 %
Comments : I have left TelTalk.org.

Please contact the new forum
owner "tel.community" instead!

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Alex on Mon 24 Sep 2012, 1:01 pm

kprobe wrote:Correction needed: Telnames does not support OpenAuth.
Ads and Coupons should be two separate rows as they are separate DNS records and render differently.
Domain Email address: although all support via MX record, none provide an easy, integrated email solution.
Google Maps: Pro .tel supports multiple maps per page
Thank you very much, Mark!


___________________________________________________

I have left TelTalk.org. Please contact the new forum owner tel.community instead!
avatar
mikeseaton
High-Flyer
High-Flyer

Location : Dorset UK
Join date : 2012-06-11
Posts : 2198 Points : 44581
Reputation : 834
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by mikeseaton on Mon 24 Sep 2012, 7:15 pm

Very useful table which highlights the significant differences between Telnames and Telnic (registrar) .tels ?

So How The **** can you commence a worldwide marketing campaign to introduce .tel to "Joe Public" when you have 2 completely different products under the same .tel banner - with many (all ?) Telnic registrars failing to tell new customers that the layout of the promo .tel domain http://Ben.tel will not be available to them !

Answer - YOU CAN'T - Telnic/Telnames need to decide which version to promote.

That decision has obviously been made - the Telnames version of .tel is the ONLY version being promoted now and (a reasonable assumption) in the future !

So Telnic .tels - unless transferred to Telnames format - have no real resale value at all !

It's not difficult to "get it" any more - the question now is what action you decide to take to protect your .tel business ?

http://MikeSeaton.tel

Alex
Admin

Location : USA
Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-04-27
Posts : 889 Points : 5905
Reputation : 258
Warning level : 100 %
Comments : I have left TelTalk.org.

Please contact the new forum
owner "tel.community" instead!

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Alex on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 2:59 am

I've added a few more important criteria in the table above.

In addition after getting feedback I've adjusted the product review for the mobile website of Telnic and TelChina to provide a realistic evaluation.

Please let me know if you have further suggestions for updating my overview and / or rating.

Thank you for your help!


___________________________________________________

I have left TelTalk.org. Please contact the new forum owner tel.community instead!
avatar
Telnamer
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Join date : 2012-09-12
Posts : 138 Points : 3150
Reputation : 52
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Telnamer on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 5:01 am

Telnic: 17%
Telnames: 84%
That clearly shows the future prospects!
avatar
Tel
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Join date : 2012-04-28
Posts : 162 Points : 3983
Reputation : 53
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Tel on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 5:05 am

TelTalk wrote:In addition after getting feedback I've adjusted the product review for the mobile website of Telnic and TelChina to provide a realistic evaluation.
Why?

maxi
Insider
Insider

Join date : 2012-08-27
Posts : 989 Points : 21995
Reputation : 466
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by maxi on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 5:18 am

mikeseaton wrote:So Telnic .tels - unless transferred to Telnames format - have no real resale value at all !
I think that it is idea of people who kept their TELs empty and made not any projects on them.

When these domainers keep their TEL empty, then of course Telnames TEL with a background picture looks nicer then empty Telnic's TEL.

But for developers it is clear that Telnames TELs fit for nothing, because they have no subdomain and so have limited functionality.

So, as I see it, Telnames TELs are praised by domainers, not by developers or people who will use them, so called "end-users". As to "resale value", it is also domainer' word, not a word of end-user.

So, as one famous Russian writer once said: "If on the cage with a lion you see the sign 'Elephant', do not believe your eyes".

P.S.
If Telnic will ever try to remove subdomains from TELs, I personally will fight with them in a court and will try to strip off all the skin from their backs.

maxi
Insider
Insider

Join date : 2012-08-27
Posts : 989 Points : 21995
Reputation : 466
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by maxi on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 5:27 am

Telnamer wrote:Telnic: 17%
Telnames: 84%
That clearly shows the future prospects!
For me the same figures clearly shows that it was was possible to write here any figures. Any gipsy fortune-teller could do the same. If you want to see something very much, no doubt, that you will surely see it.


Last edited by maxi on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 5:30 am; edited 1 time in total

Alex
Admin

Location : USA
Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-04-27
Posts : 889 Points : 5905
Reputation : 258
Warning level : 100 %
Comments : I have left TelTalk.org.

Please contact the new forum
owner "tel.community" instead!

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Alex on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 5:28 am

Tel wrote:
TelTalk wrote:In addition after getting feedback I've adjusted the product review for the mobile website of Telnic and TelChina to provide a realistic evaluation.
Why?
  • Problems with maps
  • Blurry icons
  • Broken search
  • Plain & ugly design


Last edited by TelTalk on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 5:32 am; edited 1 time in total


___________________________________________________

I have left TelTalk.org. Please contact the new forum owner tel.community instead!

Alex
Admin

Location : USA
Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-04-27
Posts : 889 Points : 5905
Reputation : 258
Warning level : 100 %
Comments : I have left TelTalk.org.

Please contact the new forum
owner "tel.community" instead!

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Alex on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 5:29 am

maxi wrote:
Telnamer wrote:Telnic: 17%
Telnames: 84%
That clearly shows the future prospects!
For me the same figures clearly shows that it was was possible to write here any figures. Any gipsy fortune-teller could do the same. If you want to see something very much, no doubt, that you will surely see it.
The Product Rating is a mathematical result from the evaluation of the 5 criteria from the Product Review.

Let's discuss and find a mutual result.


___________________________________________________

I have left TelTalk.org. Please contact the new forum owner tel.community instead!
avatar
Spocky
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Join date : 2012-09-09
Posts : 123 Points : 4606
Reputation : 79
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Spocky on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 6:39 am

You can create a poll about the question which template looks the best, but I guess it would be unnecessary:
Telnic: 0%
Telnames: 100%
avatar
Moonlight
Senior Member
Senior Member

Join date : 2012-08-10
Posts : 203 Points : 5787
Reputation : 79
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Moonlight on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 6:44 am

Spocky wrote:You can create a poll about the question which template looks the best, but I guess it would be unnecessary:
Telnic: 0%
Telnames: 100%
By design yes, but sub domains are missing. Thus the result wouldn't be that clear.
avatar
Expert
Insider
Insider

Join date : 2012-08-10
Posts : 522 Points : 12438
Reputation : 351
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Expert on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 7:47 am

maxi wrote:P.S.
If Telnic will ever try to remove subdomains from TELs, I personally will fight with them in a court and will try to strip off all the skin from their backs.
I doubt that would be needed.
Perhaps Telnic just had no time for the old templates, because the developers had to program Telnames.
I hope they still develop the old control panel after they are finished with the Telnames project.
But for sure they want to see Telnames getting into the market first. Until then not much will happen.
avatar
silvano
Senior Member
Senior Member

Location : Albenga - Italy
Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-08-08
Posts : 262 Points : 7842
Reputation : 184
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by silvano on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 7:58 am

For me, the Internet World is great and there is room for everything.

Only it would be better if all the templates were available at all the resellers.

However for me (with Android 2. x) the Mobile Websites of Telnic templates are perfect: four stars.

Alex
Admin

Location : USA
Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-04-27
Posts : 889 Points : 5905
Reputation : 258
Warning level : 100 %
Comments : I have left TelTalk.org.

Please contact the new forum
owner "tel.community" instead!

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Alex on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 8:03 am

silvano wrote:However for me (with Android 2. x) the Mobile Websites of Telnic templates are perfect: four stars.
Thank you for the input.

I want to collect more opinions and will update the rating based on the average feedback.

After new developments took place I will update the review, too!


___________________________________________________

I have left TelTalk.org. Please contact the new forum owner tel.community instead!
avatar
Tely
Senior Member
Senior Member

Join date : 2012-08-03
Posts : 211 Points : 7022
Reputation : 84
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Tely on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 1:01 pm

silvano wrote:For me, the Internet World is great and there is room for everything.

Only it would be better if all the templates were available at all the resellers.

However for me (with Android 2. x) the Mobile Websites of Telnic templates are perfect: four stars.
You have to compare the look and operation of old .tels with .tels from Telnames. The latter look much better.
avatar
silvano
Senior Member
Senior Member

Location : Albenga - Italy
Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-08-08
Posts : 262 Points : 7842
Reputation : 184
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by silvano on Tue 25 Sep 2012, 4:11 pm

Tely wrote:You have to compare the look and operation of old .tels with .tels from Telnames. The latter look much better.

Speaking of mobile.

When I type a .tel in my smartphone, I want an address, a phone number, an email ...

Photos and movies take away costly bandwidth and are useless to my purpose.

So, for me, the old templates of Telnic are still better than Telnames' for smatphones.

For desktops and notebooks is another story. Telnames template can be cute, but I prefer subdirectories. My personal tastes, maybe because I own some .tel from 2010 and I know very well the templates of Telnic.

Alex
Admin

Location : USA
Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-04-27
Posts : 889 Points : 5905
Reputation : 258
Warning level : 100 %
Comments : I have left TelTalk.org.

Please contact the new forum
owner "tel.community" instead!

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Alex on Wed 26 Sep 2012, 7:40 am

The overview has been completed, so it's very easy to see now what features are missing at what provider.


___________________________________________________

I have left TelTalk.org. Please contact the new forum owner tel.community instead!
avatar
Telnamer
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Join date : 2012-09-12
Posts : 138 Points : 3150
Reputation : 52
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Telnamer on Wed 26 Sep 2012, 8:23 am

TelTalk wrote:The overview has been completed, so it's very easy to see now what features are missing at what provider.
Gosh, a lot of work is waiting for Telnic!
avatar
Sunrise
Insider
Insider

Join date : 2012-08-10
Posts : 735 Points : 19517
Reputation : 540
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Sunrise on Wed 26 Sep 2012, 8:43 am

Telnamer wrote:
TelTalk wrote:The overview has been completed, so it's very easy to see now what features are missing at what provider.
Gosh, a lot of work is waiting for Telnic!
It would be very easy to deliver most of the features by implementing the template from Telnames into the control panel from Telnic.
avatar
Moonlight
Senior Member
Senior Member

Join date : 2012-08-10
Posts : 203 Points : 5787
Reputation : 79
Warning level : 100 %

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Moonlight on Wed 26 Sep 2012, 8:59 pm

Very helpful update of this substantiated table about Telnic + Telnames. Everybody will be able to follow the realization of important features in the future which certainly will come.

Sponsored content

Re: Overview & Review of .tel Providers

Post by Sponsored content


    Current date/time is Tue 25 Jul 2017, 6:32 am