WWW . TEL . COMMUNITY - The .tel domain forum

Welcome to the Tel.community.

You are invited to participate in the growing .tel
community!

To take full advantage of everything offered by
our forum, please log in if you are already a
member or join our community if you're not yet.

The registration at TelTalk.org is free and easy!

Thank you for participation!
WWW . TEL . COMMUNITY - The .tel domain forum

Welcome to the objective forum for .tel domains! Read it first when anything is happening with .tel!

Please join the LIVE CHAT for all REGISTERED members at the bottom of our forum!

ICANN complaint against Telnames

Share

Poll

Should we file a complaint at ICANN against Telnames?

[ 21 ]
78% [78%] 
[ 6 ]
22% [22%] 

Total Votes: 27
avatar
Freedom for .tel
Junior Member
Junior Member

Join date : 2012-10-02
Posts : 24 Points : 1932
Reputation : 5
Warning level : Banned

ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Freedom for .tel on Tue 02 Oct 2012, 6:58 pm

Telnames have developed a
product only for their own
interest and they don’t let
Telnic’s customers anticipate
from these product enhancements.

I’m giving Telnic until end of
this month
to announce when
they will deliver the same
development for Telnic, too.

If they don’t react, I will write
something like this to ICANN:

Since two years no communication and software development happen for Telnic anymore.
Complaints at Telnic have never been answered during this time period.

Meanwhile Telnic has founded a wholly-owned subsidiary called Telnames and developed an extraordinary product based on their domains.
Telnames is not an accredited domain registrar for any domain extension.

Telnames is selling their domains for two and a half times the price than the average market price.
This new website design is strictly reserved for Telnames customers. Telnic ensures technically that no other registrar of their domains get access to this particular and very advanced website design.

At the same time customers from other registrars have no possibility to design their domains at all.
The design options are strictly limited. As example pictures and videos can be inserted only by a complicated process through external resources. The design for their domains is completely underdeveloped.

Instead the domains at Telnames have been developed to a valuable resource which includes website design and technical functionalities to provide a fully satisfactory product which meets the highest standards.

Owners of registered domains at Telnic are depending on the development by Telnic, because Telnic strictly prevent any software development from external parties, as example domain owners and website developers.

From my point of view Telnames has no legal right to sell domains, because they never applied at ICANN for approval.
But Telnic promised a wide range of development in the past which has been canceled. Telnic’s roadmap for planned enhancements has been deleted years ago and the development never took place.

In this context it's important to know that the complete staff from Telnic is working for Telnames, but don’t care about Telnic anymore. The management board for both companies is the same, too.

The complete behavior of Telnic is contradictory to the ICANN agreement between ICANN and Telnic.
In particular I see infringement of the indicated rules for openness, transparency, product development, compliance with ICANN regulations for top level domains, not continued communication and termination of announced projects.

I ask you politely appealing Telnic to draw attention to its obligations for its customers.

Please give me further
suggestions to improve
this letter.

Or otherwise please
convince me not
sending it, as example
by announcement when
all Telnic customers
will get the same
service as Telnames
customers.

Alex
Admin

Location : USA
Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-04-27
Posts : 889 Points : 5878
Reputation : 258
Warning level : 100 %
Comments : I have left TelTalk.org.

Please contact the new forum
owner "tel.community" instead!

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Alex on Tue 02 Oct 2012, 7:13 pm

Isn’t this a little bit too strong?

Perhaps Telnic is already planning to deliver the Telnames template to Telnic too.

Also surely we want to support .tel, but don’t destroy it.


___________________________________________________

I have left TelTalk.org. Please contact the new forum owner tel.community instead!
avatar
Freedom for .tel
Junior Member
Junior Member

Join date : 2012-10-02
Posts : 24 Points : 1932
Reputation : 5
Warning level : Banned

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Freedom for .tel on Tue 02 Oct 2012, 7:21 pm

Then Telnic can tell
us. If they don’t speak
with us (and they don’t
- since years), I have
to speak to somebody else.

If we get an information
from Telnic about the
implementation of the
Telnames template, I
won’t send my letter
(because then I wouldn’t
have a reason for it).

If we get the access to
the product from Telnames,
then I have no reason to
complain at all.


Last edited by Freedom for .tel on Wed 03 Oct 2012, 7:26 am; edited 1 time in total

Alex
Admin

Location : USA
Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-04-27
Posts : 889 Points : 5878
Reputation : 258
Warning level : 100 %
Comments : I have left TelTalk.org.

Please contact the new forum
owner "tel.community" instead!

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Alex on Tue 02 Oct 2012, 7:28 pm

I have informed Telnic about the existence of this thread.


___________________________________________________

I have left TelTalk.org. Please contact the new forum owner tel.community instead!
avatar
Poseidon
Junior Member
Junior Member

Join date : 2012-08-05
Posts : 22 Points : 2147
Reputation : 9
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Poseidon on Tue 02 Oct 2012, 7:36 pm

Whoosh, let's start the fire!
avatar
Freedom for .tel
Junior Member
Junior Member

Join date : 2012-10-02
Posts : 24 Points : 1932
Reputation : 5
Warning level : Banned

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Freedom for .tel on Tue 02 Oct 2012, 7:39 pm

TelTalk wrote:I have informed Telnic about the existence of this thread.
Hopefully we'll hear
from them.
I don't want to waste
my time with fighting.
avatar
Telnamer
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Join date : 2012-09-12
Posts : 138 Points : 3123
Reputation : 52
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Telnamer on Tue 02 Oct 2012, 8:03 pm

Freedom for .tel wrote:Meanwhile Telnic has founded a wholly-owned subsidiary called Telnames and developed an extraordinary product based on their domains.
Freedom for .tel wrote:Instead the domains at Telnames have been developed to a valuable resource which includes website design and technical functionalities to provide a fully satisfactory product which meets the highest standards.
My speech!
avatar
Sunrise
Insider
Insider

Join date : 2012-08-10
Posts : 728 Points : 19318
Reputation : 538
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Sunrise on Tue 02 Oct 2012, 8:18 pm

@Freedom for .tel

Excellent approach and an overwhelming start on this forum!
avatar
TelKing
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Join date : 2012-06-23
Posts : 94 Points : 3224
Reputation : 34
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by TelKing on Tue 02 Oct 2012, 8:30 pm

It was only a matter of time until someone loses his patience.
avatar
TelGirl
Junior Member
Junior Member

Join date : 2012-07-07
Posts : 46 Points : 2695
Reputation : 32
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by TelGirl on Tue 02 Oct 2012, 8:49 pm

Telnic should release the template from Telnames in the old control panel – and all the anger will disappear!
avatar
Mad Max
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Join date : 2012-09-22
Posts : 163 Points : 5901
Reputation : 152
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Mad Max on Tue 02 Oct 2012, 9:19 pm

telnic must have thought the templates 6 – 8 will satisfy their customers, but compared with telnames they are ****
no surprise everybody is longing for telnames
avatar
Teler
Junior Member
Junior Member

Join date : 2012-09-11
Posts : 48 Points : 2507
Reputation : 12
Warning level : Banned

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Teler on Tue 02 Oct 2012, 9:37 pm

This is so funny

Everybody is complaining about that Telnames has such a great product

But Telnic don’t want to give it to you
avatar
TelUniverse
Newbie
Newbie

Join date : 2012-07-09
Posts : 7 Points : 1902
Reputation : 4
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by TelUniverse on Tue 02 Oct 2012, 11:42 pm

do you really think telnic will be impressed by this? what can happen to them?
icann have their own problems with the ntlds : probably they won’t care
avatar
Telminator
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Join date : 2012-06-07
Posts : 143 Points : 3233
Reputation : 24
Warning level : Banned

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Telminator on Wed 03 Oct 2012, 6:59 am

TelUniverse wrote:Do you really think telnic will be impressed by this? what can happen to them?
ICANN have their own problems with the ntlds : probably they won’t care
No, but it shows the current sentiment and the expectations of Telnic’s customers.
That really should make Telnic think!
If Telnic don't answer, they will make it even worse.

fustachio.tel
Senior Member
Senior Member

Gender : Male
Age : 34
Zodiac : Pisces Chinese zodiac : Pig
Join date : 2012-06-23
Posts : 415 Points : 9287
Reputation : 140
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by fustachio.tel on Wed 03 Oct 2012, 9:17 am

Teler wrote:This is so funny

Everybody is complaining about that Telnames has such a great product

But Telnic don’t want to give it to you

Ahaha so true...
avatar
Rambo
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Join date : 2012-06-23
Posts : 143 Points : 2779
Reputation : 21
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Rambo on Wed 03 Oct 2012, 12:02 pm

What should I write? You've already said it all!
avatar
mikeseaton
High-Flyer
High-Flyer

Location : Dorset UK
Join date : 2012-06-11
Posts : 2187 Points : 44299
Reputation : 829
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by mikeseaton on Wed 03 Oct 2012, 1:12 pm



___________________________________________________
Domain Sales: Afternic | Domains 123 |  Sedo
eBay Sites: Mike 321 UK | UK Marine Sales | UK Model Centre
Search Engines: Web | Video | Facebook | Google+ | Pinterest | Tel | Twitter

Alex
Admin

Location : USA
Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-04-27
Posts : 889 Points : 5878
Reputation : 258
Warning level : 100 %
Comments : I have left TelTalk.org.

Please contact the new forum
owner "tel.community" instead!

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Alex on Wed 03 Oct 2012, 6:14 pm

Freedom for .tel wrote:I’m giving Telnic until end of
this month
to announce when
they will deliver the same
development for Telnic, too.
Today I had a chat with Justin Hayward, Business Development and Communications Director for Telnic.

It was easy to notice he isn’t happy about the recent content on TelTalk. From his side I understand this completely.

Also in my opinion as example this thread is strong stuff.

Before you proceed with any further action I would recommend that you give a little bit time for Telnic to consider your very explicit feedback.

Here an extraction from my last message to him:
Unfortunately I can’t work against the strong dissatisfaction of so many .tel members.

Certainly the spirit will change after the most important customers’ requests get fulfilled.

I agree a lot of speculations are going on, but I myself can’t judge about what is right and what is wrong without any statements from inside Telnic.

I’m convinced it would help a lot to get a public statement from Telnic about the current state and the future plan.

If the .tel community wouldn’t feel so left alone, it would calm down the situation a lot.

Especially with the new addressed topics it would be very important to give at least a brief outlook, so .tel owners will see some light at the horizon.
I think it’s fair to give Telnic the chance to think about the numerous inputs from all of us.

And please consider also as most of you proclaimed here on TelTalk you are very satisfied with the product from Telnames.

I’m sure Telnic will consider your valuable opinions and will try to find a way to deliver the Telnames product to all customers of Telnic as soon as possible; this even more after you mentioned so clearly how important it is to you.


___________________________________________________

I have left TelTalk.org. Please contact the new forum owner tel.community instead!
avatar
mikeseaton
High-Flyer
High-Flyer

Location : Dorset UK
Join date : 2012-06-11
Posts : 2187 Points : 44299
Reputation : 829
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by mikeseaton on Wed 03 Oct 2012, 6:26 pm

TelTalk wrote:I’m sure Telnic will consider your valuable opinions and will try to find a way to deliver the Telnames product to all customers of Telnic as soon as possible; this even more after you mentioned so clearly how important it is to you.
That's all most people have been asking for !

Excluding Telnic .tel owners from the new Telnames template should never have happened in the first place - but if Telnic finally want to offer it to all Telnic registrars a statement from them to this effect would be very welcome.

Perhaps a brief statement could be made in the next 24 hours, with an indication of timescale, costs (if any) and the delivery mechanism.

Telnic - will you do this to avoid any further loss of goodwill from your loyal customers ?

http://MikeSeaton.tel



avatar
Mad Max
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Join date : 2012-09-22
Posts : 163 Points : 5901
Reputation : 152
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Mad Max on Wed 03 Oct 2012, 6:36 pm

mikeseaton wrote:Perhaps a brief statement could be made in the next 24 hours, with an indication of timescale, costs (if any) and the delivery mechanism.
we haven't got a statement from telnic the whole year
so this one will last longer than 24 hours, too
avatar
TelKing
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Join date : 2012-06-23
Posts : 94 Points : 3224
Reputation : 34
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by TelKing on Wed 03 Oct 2012, 11:17 pm

The reaction from Telnic so far was to delete the links to this topic and ban one of their most active and biggest customers.
This is not a sign we will hear from them soon.
avatar
Freedom for .tel
Junior Member
Junior Member

Join date : 2012-10-02
Posts : 24 Points : 1932
Reputation : 5
Warning level : Banned

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Freedom for .tel on Wed 03 Oct 2012, 11:34 pm

TelKing wrote:This is not a sign we will hear from them soon.
No problem!

For now I'll stay
still.
But if Telnic don't
see a reason to
give a statement,
then they can
explain the current
situation to ICANN.
avatar
mikeseaton
High-Flyer
High-Flyer

Location : Dorset UK
Join date : 2012-06-11
Posts : 2187 Points : 44299
Reputation : 829
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by mikeseaton on Thu 04 Oct 2012, 7:24 am

TelKing wrote:The reaction from Telnic so far was to delete the links to this topic and ban one of their most active and biggest customers.
This is not a sign we will hear from them soon.
Freedom for .tel wrote:But if Telnic don't
see a reason to
give a statement,
then they can
explain the current
situation to ICANN.
All that's needed initially is a phone call to the compliance section of ICANN and ask is it OK for a registry to sell domains of the same extension that they are the registry for ?

If the answer is NO, definitely not, as I suspect it will be, then a second question needs to be asked as to whether the registry can form a second company to do this, which is effectively the same organisation, with the same CEO/CFO/CMO, offices and many staff.

If again the answer again is NO, of course not, then there is a clear basis for a compliance failure to be filed at ICANN.

All it takes to start the ball rolling is a 5-minute phone call from a .tel owner who feels he/she has been let down by Telnic's actions regarding the launch of Telnames Ltd. and the exclusion of existing Telnic .tel owners from the Telnames template.

I guess it's not a question of IF, but WHEN, that phone call to ICANN will be made.

http://MikeSeaton.tel
avatar
ntervu
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-04-28
Posts : 65 Points : 2628
Reputation : 23
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by ntervu on Thu 04 Oct 2012, 7:46 am

This is an thread that in my opinion currently distracts from the purpose of our collective attention to the promotion of a leading technological platform.

As business leaders, our focus, MONEY and attention should be spent determining how to partner and work on collaborative solutions. Instead of discussing ways to derail the hard work of Telnic, we should be in fact working and using platforms like this to bring our ideas together.

The internet is evolving and so should our way of thinking. This evolution did not start yesterday, it started years ago when registry/registrars like .jobs came onto the scene. Based on the flood of new gTLDs coming into play soon, I am pretty confident that we will see an overflow of hybrid Registry/Registrar business models coming into play.

Telnic has been very good to us and I feel is attempting to establish a cost effective balance that we can leverage to lead the .Telecommunications charge in the forthcoming mobile internet world.

Litigious talk, rallying, and positioning is not the stuff that leaders are made of. As a matter of fact, it discerns and tends to drive people away from the source of the activity. As business leaders, investors and developers alike let's close threads like this and open up threads that continue to flush out Feature/Function requirements that reflect our passion for the success of .Telecommunications on the internet.

Respectfully
Dan Prather



___________________________________________________
Dan Prather
www.danprather.tel
avatar
kprobe
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Gender : Male
Join date : 2012-05-11
Posts : 196 Points : 4380
Reputation : 59
Warning level : 100 %

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by kprobe on Thu 04 Oct 2012, 8:38 am

Wow things move fast here. Been busy with tech specs.

@Alex, @Dan: you have added some level-headed sense to this discussion. We all have to work together in a positive manner to get results for the good of the entire .Tel community of Pro and TelNames owners. Telnic has an agenda, a plan and some priorities. This is obvious. Telnic has two great products, one more modern getting the resources, and one more powerful in need of some attention. Telnic has done what it could to promote this TLD, registrars did/do not. That is why TelNames was created, so that Telnic can have control of the channel. Dan is right re .JOBS (SHRM runs .jobs in proxy) and probably right re new TLDS: registries will have control over registrars to sell their own names. Telnames is a reseller, using Key Systems as a registrar. No different from what .Jobs has done and no different from what is bound to happen next year. Telnic has rules to follow so do you really think ICANN doesn't know this?

All this complaining and negativity gets us nowhere. So pipe down, populate your domains, and get some creative juices flowing.

Mark


Sponsored content

Re: ICANN complaint against Telnames

Post by Sponsored content


    Current date/time is Tue 27 Jun 2017, 11:31 pm